top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYan LIu

Processing Project

Introduction

This report reviews the concepts and ideas of my project. After researching the list of recommended artist on the blog, I decided to go with John Whitney (born in California in 1917) Whitney was an outstanding and very early producer of experimental films and animation. His works and those of his family were excellent for their time, which I found attractive. So I combined his ideas with what I learned in visual coding, and created a processing code of about eighty lines. The end result is an image of a circular motion, translated in a 3D vision.


Approach

After a few days of thinking and research, I began to draw my ideas so that I could use them as a reference when I typed the code, so I sketched and found the following images as my project references.


When thinking about creativity at home, I find I always stare at my watch. With the works of John Whitney as an inspiration, I had the idea of adding several layers of "leaves" on the outside with a sphere as the centre. The motion track of each layer is centred on the centre point, but the motion speed is different just like a clock or watch.

Combined with the knowledge learned in class, it will become a 3D effect. In 3D rotation, it will be like a lamp ball shooting light in all directions. Then the 2D and 3D effects will alternate.


Decisions

In the whole coding process, the most challenging decision was the number of 'leaves’. At the beginning, I used two hundred, but the image was too dense. When I gradually reduced the number, I found that the number of leaves was optimal when it was between sixty and seventy leaves. It showed both big and small gaps in each layer, which looked like a working clock.

Secondly, if the angle between each leaf is too big or too small, the result did not look good, so I adjusted the angle between each layer of leaf to achieve the effect I am satisfied with, and to get the best visual impact.

As shown in the figures, the image has both 2D and 3D effects.



Coding



Yan_Liu_18120377.pde
.zip
Download ZIP • 1KB


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page